Continuing the Conversation

Hello all,

I am thrilled to say that the Adventist Women 4 Peace blog is finally back and running again… with one small change— a new editor. Professor Victoria Bresee has, unfortunately, stepped down. I know that she will be greatly missed, as she has made a huge step in connecting not only Adventist Women worldwide, but any who believe in the cause for peace and social justice. I believe that the best way to acknowledge the importance of another’s work is to not let it die, and that is one of the reasons I was very excited to meet with Professor Bresee about continuing the blog.

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Zulema Ibarra, and I am currently a senior at La Sierra University, finishing up an individual major in Emerging Voices in Cross-Cultural America. Yes, it’s a mouthful, but as it was designed to cater to my specific interests, I have loved every one of my classes. They have taken me through a fascinating discovery of the modern American voice, by examining in-depth the experiences and opinions of those whose voices have not always been heard, from women to immigrants to the rural poor. This, coupled with my love for diversity and progress, has led me to my position as co-president of the Students for Social Justice Club at La Sierra. Other activities I enjoy are drama productions, music (I was a part of the LSU Orchestra for three years), writing, discussions of all sorts, observing nature and change, and finding the beauty in life.

I was born in Mexico, but have been raised in the U.S. all my life. The East Coast is where my heart is, having lived in upstate New York until my early teens. However, I am indebted to the Southern California open-mindedness I’ve experienced for my intellectual development. Further, the desert air and expansive fields of the Imperial Valley, where I currently call home, have softened my heart towards the uniqueness of the desert and fostered my interest in migrant labor and rural poverty.

Coming from these lenses, I hope to build onto Professor Bresee’s foundation, and invite all of you to help me keep the conversation ongoing. Blogging is an excellent way of learning from each other and engaging in meaningful and constructive dialogue, so I welcome you to share your thoughts. I will be updating as often as possible and at least once a week, but being a student, I know that there may be a couple weeks’ gap here and there (specifically during finals). If you would like to contribute a post to this blog, please contact me and we can discuss the details of posting it. If you have any suggestions or ideas, please reply to this post or email me at adventistwomen4peaceblog@gmail.com. Remember to keep checking the blog for new posts coming soon!

–Zulema Ibarra

 

5 Responses to “Continuing the Conversation”

  1. Johnny A. Ramírez Says:

    Good deal!
    Will we get reports from the conference soon?
    Keep up the good work,
    johnny

  2. Zulema Says:

    Yes, I will be posting on it by Monday. Of course, if anyone else has other thoughts they would like to share on it, they are most welcome to do so. I expect it to be a very rewarding experience.

  3. Ryan Bell Says:

    Zulema,

    I’m glad you’ll be getting this blog going again. After being with you all yesterday I realize again how important it is to have women’s voice in the forefront of this conversation about peace in our communities and around the world. It was a wonderful conference. I also recognize that Ron Osborn and I were the only two male voices in the conference, and for that I am deeply honored – that you all would welcome us in that way. The range of voices was also impressive, from all different age groups, ethnicities and social locations (from San Bernardino to Haiti!)

    I’m hopeful about what we can do in the coming year. Please keep in touch about the March 7 Peace Witness for Iraq!

  4. Zulema Says:

    Yes, Ryan, I agree the conference went really well. I was so pleased with the diversity we experienced and the different shades with which we were able to experience looking at peace. You and Ron were certainly a very important part to the conversation, as it is necessary to include a spectrum of voices in order to come to a fuller and inclusive understanding of peace today.
    It was a great start to the year, and I’m so happy that you could come and be a part of the conference, while sharing also a very refreshing view on evangelism. We will certainly continue in touch.

  5. gingerharwood Says:

    Z.,
    We cannot thank you enough for taking on this important task for us. We began Adventist Women for Peace with a desire to create a space where we could challenge ourselves to take our heritage as peacemakers seriously and create a conversation where Adventist women in particular felt invited to “step up to the microphone” and speak for the Spirit. THIS IS AN OPEN CONVERSATION
    The blog is one of our best opportunities to find each other and stay connected as we consider what it means to be Christians today.
    Peace and blessings,
    Ginger Hanks Harwood


Leave a Reply

